Rules Guy: Can you test out a potential ricochet shot before actually hitting it?

0
3

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

At a PGA Tour event, I saw a pro with a lie too close to a tarp-covered fence to advance the ball forward, so he pitched backward. I thought he had a legitimate, if risky, play to bank a shot forward off the fence. Could he have thrown another ball against the fence to get an idea of how a ricochet might work? —Mike Rogers, via email

Mike, you’ve devised a query we don’t believe the powers that be have yet considered. Nonetheless, because said powers have indeed considered the idea of test-dropping a ball to see how it would roll, we conclude that it’s a good thing this pro didn’t act upon your notion.

Re: test-dropping, Clarification 14.4/2 considers the action contrary to the spirit of the game such that disqualifying the player is justified under Rule 1.2a for serious misconduct. Had the pro done this test “throw,” he likely would have been subjected to the same scrutiny and potential expulsion from the competition.

For more test-related guidance from our guru, read on …


Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?


By:


Rules Guy



At a recent tournament, the driving range was adjacent to the first tee. In his warm-up, a player who hadn’t seen the course before was hitting balls from the range onto the first fairway to see if he could clear a pond hazard on his opening drive. Clearing the pond leaves a flip wedge; playing short or to the side of it requires a longer approach. Since he was gaining course knowledge, is he penalized for playing the course on the day of the tournament? —Andy Brown, via email

It feels like he should be penalized — that this should be treated differently from the guy who accidentally slices one onto the course from the range.

And yet, perhaps unsatisfyingly, it isn’t.

Rule 5.2 indeed prohibits practicing on the course prior to the day’s round. Despite where his practice shots ended up, however, this player is making them from the designated practice area, not from on the course in breach of Rule 5.2.

Even though he may have gained insight, it’s not a breach. That said, if there are golfers on the course while he’s doing this, it’s dangerous and worth a pointed remark to the player — or finding the committee in charge and asking them to have a word with him.

Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a club-fitting location near you at True Spec Golf.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Disclaimer : This story is auto aggregated by a computer programme and has not been created or edited by DOWNTHENEWS. Publisher: golf.com